SOP - Closing a Project
Standard Process
1. Final Documentation
- Export reports of all signs in the project to create a snapshot of when the project closed. A thorough report would include maps, message schedule, artwork, and photos, in addition to any custom reports with history or approval status as necessary.
- Bulk edit all installed signs to include a project identifier. This could be the project number, PO, or relevant tracking number. Put this information into a global field titled "Job Number".
2. Sign Management
- Merge completed signs back into the Manage project, making them the current version
- Each sign will retain the tag of the job number it was updated on
3. Handling Non-installed Signs
- For signs not installed (removed or unimplemented), include them in an export with artwork, location plans, message schedule, and photos. This will create a record in case the unimplemented signs every need to be referred to.
- Delete signs from SignAgent
4. Project Completion
- At completion the project should be empty of signs. It can then be deleted.
Incomplete Location Plans
When a project has concluded, the full updated floorplan may not be available yet. The normal process of "Active Projects" and "Managed Assets" doesn't account for this grey area and so adds a third category of "Completed But Awaiting Floorplans". See this article for more information on moving signs between full floor plans and construction drawings.
1. Documentation & Clean Up
- Export a report to create an end-of-project snapshot
-
Add the job number to a global detail field called Job Number and add the job number to all signs within the project
- Delete any signs that were not installed or otherwise removed from scope
2. Manage Signs (temporary)
-
Create a project titled "Manage- Awaiting Final Floor Plans" with a state titled "Holding" for clear classification. The signs from every project that closes but are awaiting full location plans will all be placed into this project as a holding zone.
- This is a one time action. If this Project and State already exist simply transfer the signs to it.
-
Select all signage on the subset floor plan, and move them into the Holding state.
Once Floor Plans have been received
3. Update Held Signs
-
Once the updated finalized floor plans have been received, you will upload or replace the existing full location plan.
-
Select all signs on the subset location plan and move them to the full location plan.
-
Merge these signs back to the Manage Project.