Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Sync Error Warnings

The most important thing to know about sync errors is that only the data with errors will be impacted. All other data (photos, messages, signs) will sync without issue. 

 

To access a list of current sync errors, tap your initials or photo in the top, left corner to access the app settings and select "Sync Errors". 

Why They Occur

Sync errors happen when a specific set of steps occur:

  1. A mobile user syncs down sign information to their device

  2. The mobile user captures or inputs some data into a sign

  3. The sign is changed on the web in such a way that makes the user no longer have access to that sign or their choices invalid

  4. The mobile user attempts to sync up their data

These errors have two basic categories of cause that have to do with the type of data that was changed. 

1. Structural Changes

These changes have to do with the elements that compose a sign rather than information about the sign itself. Examples include:

  • State a sign was in has been deleted
  • Visuals a sign had as content have been deleted
  • The type of field has been changed

When this occurs, the system will flag a sync error that can be viewed from the errors list. All non-error containing signs will continue to sync. 

2. Individual Sign Changes

Changes that only impact the one sign are handled slightly differently. This occurs when the error stems from changes that are made to the specific sign and not any of the structural components. Examples include: 

  • The sign is moved to a state the user doesn't have access to
  • The sign is deleted

When this occurs, the information will be removed from the user's device. They no longer have access or the original sign is gone and so any photographs or data entered is no longer relevant. The data will be deleted and the sync will proceed for all relevant signage.